Touched by Angels

Hi all

At the moment, my family are experiencing an extremely painful and devastating situation. I’m in an amazingly lucky position of being surrounded by wonderful, caring, compassionate and strong people, who have just held me through this time. These beautiful women and men have 1 thing in common. They are all Social Workers. And they are my family.

You see as a Care Leaver, I was resigned to a life of inner loneliness. Poor decision making in my early 20’s led to me to places of pain that I never want to return to. It took me a while to learn to trust and accept that when i’m in a Social Workers company, I feel totally at home.

Maybe this is how it feels when you return home to mum and or dad in times of need, if it is, I understand.

I’m not ashamed of the way I feel now – I love the people in my life, and feel damn grateful that they care for me as if I was one of their own.

This poem by Maya Angelo is one of my favourites, and sums up my feelings.

Touched by an Angel

We, unaccustomed to courage
exiles from delight
live coiled in shells of loneliness
until love leaves its high holy temple
and comes into our sight
to liberate us into life.

Love arrives
and in its train come ecstasies
old memories of pleasure
ancient histories of pain.
Yet if we are bold,
love strikes away the chains of fear
from our souls.

We are weaned from our timidity
In the flush of love’s light
we dare be brave
And suddenly we see
that love costs all we are
and will ever be.
Yet it is only love
which sets us free. Maya Angelou

Much love to all

Jenny Aka Hackney Child x

One thought on “Touched by Angels

Leave a Reply

